Watson Elementary students receive free bike helmets

Hastings elementary students receive free bike helmets.
Published: May. 18, 2022 at 4:13 PM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

HASTINGS, Neb. (KSNB) - Watson Elementary School won the 2022 Spring “Small Towns Matter” award Wednesday.

There were a plethora of speakers encouraging students to stay safe including; Superintendent Jeff Schneider, Principal Dave Barrett, Hastings Mayor Corey Stutte, Hastings School Board President Jim Boeve, Kindergarten teacher Jade Bartunek, UnitedHealthCare Executive Director Matt Milan and News Channel Nebraska CEO Andy Ruback.

Each student was presented with a helmet and the school was awarded $2,500 to use on whatever they choose. In the past schools have used the money donation for playground equipment, teacher supplies or technology.

“Safety is a high priority at any school, and keeping students safe at Watson Elementary so that they can concentrate on learning is, and always has been, a major focus for Hastings Public Schools,” said Watson Elementary Principal Dave Barrett.

Superintendent Jeff Schneider said the kids are very excited about it and the great thing is now there are going to be about 350 more kids in town that are going to be riding around in a safer fashion this summer.

The contest is held by News Channel Nebraska in partnership with UnitedHealthCare.

This is the fourth year they’ve presented the “Small Towns Matter” award and they will continue to hold another contest this fall. Anyone can enter a school whether it be a student, staff member or a member of the community.

Copyright 2022 KSNB. All rights reserved.