Newest class inducted into the Islander Hall of Fame

Former Grand Island Senior High football players, coaches, and contributors are inducted into the Islander Hall of Fame. (KSNB)

GRAND ISLAND, Neb. (KSNB) - Former Grand Island Senior High football players and coaches got their teams back together for the Islander Hall of Fame.

In this class being inducted include the 1958 team that went undefeated. There has not been an undefeated team since. Others are players who went on to play college ball or even for the NFL.

The current coach said his players always keep those teams in mind when they step out onto the field.

“It dates back to the 1890's and we've had a great tradition of excellence for decade after decade and this is one way we can recognize those players, contributors, coaches, and teams that have left their mark on our history,” Coach Jeff Tomlin said.

Coach Tomlin said there is the same passion for the game in recent teams he has gotten to lead.

“I think they're inspired by it. We talk a lot about our hall of fame,” Coach Tomlin said. “They walk by the display every day on their way to the locker room for practice. We try to invite the Hall of Fame inductees into our locker room. So they're around it so if it's not in front of their mind, the back of their mind.”

Eight former players, coaches, and contributors were added this year.

Those inducted into the 2019 Islander Hall of Fame include:
1958 Football Team
Dick Stalker - Contributor
William “Wild Bill” Callihan - Player
Stan Farrer - Player
Jake Gdowski - Player
Kevin Trosper - Player
Matt Vrzal - Player
John Wemhoff - Player
Einar Toft - Coach